TheWayfaringTree

By FergInCasentino

We were born before the wind

So. I went to the car boot. And already looked dishevelled. Hair askew and ahoy. It was 7.00 am on a Sunday. But after I had won these old damsons from the local fields I looked like I had been pulled through a hedge backwards: the eye learning the colour to pick out amongst the dark foliage.

I made damson jam from these trees that were there before the war: remnants of the houses cleared for the gun batteries. I thought the Van Morrison song went , 'before the war' but it was the 'wind'. 

Anyway, it's a great song and Van is in a peculiarly bad mood on this clip where he says, "If you shout your mouth off you might just get what you want" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VEwYOUXTA6I

The jam is good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.