Beautiful...Beautiful Brown Eyes....

...I'll never love blue eyes again. Rosemary Clooney.

I took a drive this morning after dropping my doctor off...trying to beat the heat. It's now 3 p.m., and the temp is 93. Steamy.

I had a chance today for 2 "perfect" shots...if there is such a thing. On my flickr page...is a picture of a bugler about to play Taps. at the National Cemetery. I always try to be very careful about intruding on a very solemn ceremony. I was way back, and the family was inside a pavilion, so they couldn't see me. After the 21 gun salute, a bagpiper in a kilt got up to join the bugler. I was just ready to snap when a cemetery worker asked me to move along. Oh well.

The second shot occurred when I was shooting this dragonfly. I was still in my van when 2 big ears popped up. It was the classic shot of the deer staring at you through the tall strands of grass. Plus...she was only 20 yards away. "Steady...don't scare her!" I lifted my camera from fly to doe, and prepared to shoot. Problem? There was so much tall grass that the camera wouldn't focus.

Then...I got a little harsh on myself. "C'MON YOU ID-JET! SWITCH IT TO MANUAL FOCUS!!" I reached up with the left pointer finger. Couldn't find the switch. Had to lower the camera, and slide it into manual. My not-so-deft dexterity had done driven the dear deer deeper into the woods. I was deflated, blanked, shut out, empty. I got zero, zilch, nada, nothing....BUT...I do have a new thesaurus. Can you tell?

Frustrating, but still fun. In the opposite of fun...I just came from my 6 month visit with the dentist. Things went well.

Put her in LARGE for a closer look. She's almost as pretty as Rosemary Clooney with those brown eyes.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.