Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Bewildering Bicycles

When I was a kid it was a lot easier to choose a bike than it is today, especially if you didn't have much money. I think I'd need a lot of help to make a sensible choice from this lot at REI (Recreational Equipment Inc.) I didn't have my camera and wide angle lens with me, so wasn't able to show the full selection.

I should mention that REI isn't just a bicycle store, but sells equipment (and clothing) for many outdoor activities, including hiking, climbing, canoeing, camping, and skiing.

REI originated in 1938 when a group of 23 climbing friends got together to buy quality outdoor gear at reasonable prices. It's now the nation's largest consumer co-op, with more than 5 million members. A low membership number is a badge of honor, and young salespeople -- they're almost all young -- show due reverence when I quote my number (52221) from memory. My 40-year old REI down jacket is also a conversation starter.

I almost forgot to mention that I wasn't there to buy a bike -- I wanted a new hat for the Colorado trip. Last-minute shopping, as usual, and I couldn't get the style I wanted in my size, except a black one. I'll make do with the old one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.