Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

On The Prowl, The Cooper's Hawk

He's got keen eyesight.  A keen sense of smell.  He knows there are birds hiding somewhere because there is bird food in the area and these are the places these Cooper's Hawks like to hunt for their prey.  He came up empty in my yard again this morning. 

As much as I have loved the opportunity to photograph this juvenile hawk these past two days, I hope he doesn't come back for a while.  I've read in my research that the best way to keep hawks from returning is to remove the bird food from the yard for a few days to discourage the congregation of the birds.  However, that would probably mean letting the water dishes go dry, too, and I wouldn't want to do that; I would be too guilt ridden.  So I'll see what tomorrow morning brings...and I hope it's not this Cooper's Hawk!

The extra:  Where are they?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.