More Life of Sands

By sands

It Turned Out Lovely!

There I was, pottering around the flat, minding my own business, baking some bread, when............

BLEEEEEEEEEEP BLEEEEEEEEEP, BLEEEEEEEEEEP

The lifeboat pager went off! I hunted around like a mad thing for socks & shoes and as I went out of the door, I suddenly remembered my loaf in the oven! I turned the oven off and sadly thought my bread would now be ruined.

I was first at the station and shortly after, Niall & Simon arrived & we headed out to assist a boat at Fidra Island. He had dropped 11 people off on the island and had then lost his steering.

Simon went aboard the stricken boat which by now had an emergency tiller fitted and they headed back to NB harbour while Niall & I ferried the passengers to Broad Sands beach in groups of 3 or 4.

We arrived back at NB 2 hours after we launched and who do I see sitting on the sea wall.......troosers!!!!

It was a fun shout - no lives in danger & the folk we helped were very kind and grateful, especially as their trip had been cut short by several hours!

And when I got home, I discovered the loaf of bread I'd left in the oven actually turned out perfectly :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.