A FRIEND IN NEED

Last evening while walking to my car in the driveway, I surprised by two squirrels.  One leaped up right beside me.  He jumped from some chimney pipes that I have store there, to the top of the six foot cedar fence, turned and stared me right in the eye from two feet away.  The other stayed on top of the pipe, and seemed terribly unsure of himself.  I thought that he might fall into the pipe and get trapped in there.  I was laughing the whole time and saying take it easy to them.  I looked back up to the one on top of the fence.  He was still staring me in the eyes, and seemed to be saying, hurt my baby and I'll jump on your face and scratch out your eyes.  Just then the little guy tried to jump to the top of the fence, didn't make it, and fell to the ground.  He got himself onto a five gallon plastic bucket, and then onto a foot square piece of metal part of the chimney.  I told him that if he would stay there I would help him out.  He did.  I picked up the metal with him on it, and slowly lifted him to the top of the fence.  He slowly got off onto the top of a fence post.  He cautiously made his way into the shrubs to join the other one.  I went in to get my camera, and they put on a show for me.  He got better walking on the branches, and finally made a two foot leap from one branch to the other.  I love animals, but being able to help a wild one is real special,  and makes me remember the garden of Eden, when we all got along in peace and harmony.   Extra is the my two friends together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.