Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

So strange

I know it's ridiculous, but I found this a totally strange sight on my walk.  Yes, they're just bullocks, and very sweet ones at that, but this is a piece of land owned by Winchester College which I have been walking in for the last 35 years.  I used to bring my kids here almost every day when they were small and our dog, Callie.  It's only a quarter of a mile from the cathedral, less probably, and never ever did I think I'd see it populated by farm animals.  But although it's still owned by the College it is now managed by the Wildlife Trust, who have cut down the enormous poplars and a magnificent stand of mature hickory trees.  It's a changed place, mostly growing thistles, and I can't disguise that I feel a bit sad to see it so different.  No playing pooh sticks now where we used to!

The 2 semis behind are old bargemen's cottages beside the Itchen Navigation Canal.  Just along from here was the wharf where grain went down to be milled (and I think coal came in) for Winchester.

Never mind, it was a beautiful autumn day, not much to complain about and I was cooked a pretty amazing fish pie for supper.1

Hope you're all having a great weekend  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.