Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Golden and Purple Meldons

Sunday's bike ride started off a lot earlier than usual. I decided to do the reverse route to a ride I did two weeks ago. It was quite cold, a jacket was required. 7 degrees. Brrr

The morning mist hung in the trees as I headed out of Edinburgh, through Auchendinney to Gladhouse, and then to Eddleston. As I climbed up to the Meldons, I could see a veil of mist over Peebles.

The bracken was still very colourful on the Meldons, and the purple bracken gave it a weird quality.

From here, it was down to the A72, and Cademuir to enter Peebles from the south. The rest of the route was fast and warm. At Traquair, I had to take my jacket off. Thankfully they pack down very small.

Time to head home, which was through Innerleithen and the Granites Road (B709, B7007) to Middleton, before heading back to Gladhouse and Auchendinny. Climbing up to the Granites was very warm. Summer is here again, for a wee while at least.

Got home in glorious sunshine. A lovely 121km (71mi) means I've met my target of a long ride in September.

Afternoon spent slowly walking through Morningside, before meeting my partner for coffee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.