S is for Stubborn

Not one to give in, I went to work.
I will sleep well tonight.

How do I feel?
Sore on multiple needle entry sites on my arm.  
Confused.  Wondering if everything that happened yesterday was real.  Equally confused by a letter from my pain consultant which suggests that he has read someone else's history rather than mine!!!

Ah well.
Worse things happen right?

A teenager challenged me (inadvertently) to a 'top trumps' situation today.  He had been disrespectful to a colleague and I took him to my office to figure out what was happening.  He admitted that he hadn't attempted to learn the 10 spellings and that his mark of zero was his issue.  He then tried to excuse his choices and his rudeness with the fact that he had things on his mind.  I am always willing to consider external factors, so I asked him to tell me what was so important that it meant he could be rude and not put the effort in..."me and my girlfriend split up".  He is 13.  I was not able to suspend my disbelief...so I told him about my day yesterday and made the point that I was in the building, working hard, in spite of all of that. Chin dropped to his chest, his manners reappeared and he admitted that I won in "Excuses Top Trumps".  

Sometimes, my eyes roll so far back I can see the inside of my skull!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.