How Is This Possible?

We are so shocked and saddened at the latest school shooting, this time in my original hometown, Roseburg, Oregon. When I returned to school in 1981, I attended classes at Umpqua Community College. In the police scanner broadcasts, the location of the shooting was in the room where I took several literature and writing courses. One of my favorite Shakespeare classes took place in the very room where people died today.

How can I process that? In the classroom where we met, we of every sort of background, we discussed in civilized ways the merits of the themes of literature and writing. At the bottom of it was the theme of discussing the human condition, the love, the hate. 

Can't make much sense of this. 

My thoughts and prayers go out to the families of the victims, the surviving students, and to the community at large. No one can make sense of this.

I saw this cloud early in the afternoon. It looked a touch angelic. Maybe just what I wanted to see. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.