Grading Wool

It was a poor start to the day, damp and showery.  After lunch, I looked out the window and it was blue skies and sunshine for the rest of the day and a lovely calm and clear night :)

It's been another busy day in the museum.  The day started quiet but plenty to get on with.  There's been painting workshops in the afternoon, set ups for this evening's talk in the auditorium and also a set up for an event in our boat hall.  I also popped along Jamieson's wool brokers at lunchtime for a talk.  
It's been a realxing evening at home.  I have managed to pop along my sister Laura and family, with mam.  It'll be another relaxing night at home later :)

The talk at Jamieson's Wool Brokers was about grading Shetland sheep fleeces.  Oliver Henry has worked in the business for over 48 years.  Here's Oliver pictured, working with some of the fleeces, explaining the different qualities they look for in the wool.  I couldn't stay for the whole talk, I had to get back to work but what I did hear, was very interesting.  Taken at the wool brokers on the Old North Road, Lerwick.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.