my eyes they cannot lie

By girlsonfilm

Dens, Dans and Dams.

Today was a lazy day off work, typified by naps and mooching about between the school runs. Day has been soundtracked by Blur.

I did a bit of work but not too much. Watching Woman in Black tonight, the first time I've watched a scary film on my own. I'm feeling brave. I'm doing it.

After the girls left for the weekend I headed to the shop in search for food. There is a lovely street I pass on the way, the neighbours all seem to get on..they have made a bit of wasteland into a flower bed, had a jubilee party and during the snow they built this

It *just* seems like a street you would want to live on.

Tonight I spotted that the kids had built a den. A DEN. <BLIP>

Just like the old days. I was strangely and strongly moved by it, the plastic sheeting, the old chair, the brush they used to make it nice.

And..AND...the 'Welcome' mat on lino? God, I could have died.

I was overwhelmed with childhood memories, building dens...arriving the next day to find some other gang had nicked your rope swing and 'decked the den' and just care free summer days.

Chatted with Howard Moon about it tonight - I talked childhood dens..he talked dams. It was our first big chat so I did not let on about my dam obsession.

River? Got to dam it. Sea? Bugger the castle..the most important thing is the moat. It has to fill from the sea as the tide comes in and it has to be deep enough to hold water. THEN we dam it.

It's JUST one of my things. Judging by his intricate dam plans I think he will understand.

So a date is planned...a daytime date. He asked if we could look round Rylands Library together (without any prompting from me!) then go for a meal.

Let's see what happens. I'm a bit excited*

*A LOT

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.