Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Ahead of the Herd

My friend Mel has recently moved from Cumbria to North Wales, where she's forging a new career as a funeral celebrant. And, judging by the positive feedback she's been getting from the loved ones of the people whose lives she's been celebrating, she's doing an excellent job.

It's fascinating and inspiring to hear her talk about her work and I think she's ideally suited to provide a caring, compassionate and respectful 'goodbye' which helps those left behind to accept their loss.

This is a subject that we, as a society, still don't discuss enough, or plan for properly. Particularly, perhaps, those of us who aren't religious. But Mel is certainly working to change all that and I salute her!

By the way, I don't think she's ever worn this t-shirt at a funeral but, in the event that I go before she does, I'd love her to wear it to mine!

Some Snakefarm seems appropriate http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vuzrgu55lkA

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.