Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Smiling cygnets

I'm so glad I didn't snaffle that moggie yesterday. It would have sat and stuck out its neck, tucked its tail around his feet and glowered at me from a corner while I tried to watch TV.

I don't really want a cat to deal with Mr Mouse. I know what they do with them - I've had a cat. I just want Mr Mouse to SMELL a cat and run away never to return. Now there's an opening for some entrepreneur (I'm too busy tidying) - a Spray Can Catty Smell. No, not that smell, thanks. A nice house-trained, clean moggie smell. Could even call it Canned Cat. Maybe not.

The traps have not caught anything. This could mean three things - either Mr Mouse has flitted upstairs with his family, or he prefers his peanut butter smooth, not chunky, or they don't work.

I peered in to see if the peanut was still there. It is. I read reviews of this mousetrap, and most say it's rubbish - it worked as a feeding station.

So I girded my loins and went down to the local sells-just-about-everything shop and bought two vicious snapper mouse traps. Yes, breaks their wee neck! The lady gave me a wee talk (lecture) about the other kind where you can release them elsewhere, but not get rid of the problem.

And I can re-use these snapper ones. If I can remove the bloody (literally!) mouse without passing out. My computer room now has four mouse traps. But really, I just want a nice (painless) catty smell.

Well, despite my forboding about the delivery and installation of the oven, all went well yesterday afternoon. It was delivered. My man came and put it in. He forgot his trolley to wheel it downstairs, but he used the Welcome mat to slide it. What a man! I helped by carrying the (quite heavy) door. I thought I should have maybe waited and got a blip for aprecious (it's her pet hate!) of him bending over and showing his underpants, but he wore a belt. At his waist. I love him.

Actually, when my lovely electrician was dismantling it, he declared it was just an element broken and he could have fixed it!! I felt awful! In this day and age of things not lasting (not meant to last) I hadn't even thought it could maybe be fixed - I immediately assumed that I needed a new one. Terrible, eh?

Not raining! Popped down to see the cygnets. They're my emergency dog/baby/flower/wee round bird blip!

I like the way these two are swimming along, smiling. And I like animals/birds that don't stare at you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.