Ellisroger Photos

By Ellisroger

Look up there

I was very fortunate today to be able to photograph the arrival of the Olympic Torch relay in Rochdale, from a prime vantage point, right alongside a LOCOG photographer. He spoke to the team accompanying the torch bearer and asked the donor and recipient at the handover to look up at us. This is that moment.

I enjoyed today enormously. I got some shots of the torch arriving, the actual flame, and the accompanying sponsors' vehicles.

Just as enjoyable were people enjoying the day, some having had their faces painted. There was a good police presence as well as people to entertain the crowd.

What made the Rochdale arrival special was the presence of the town's own Olympics, sports cars made in Rochdale in the 1960s as I mentioned in my blip some months ago.

I even got a shot of one of the Peregrine Falcons that nest in the Town Hall tower.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.