The Daily Record

By havohej

Black Horse Untitled

Black Horse 'Untitled' (Self Released, 2008?)

In 2008 The Process were lucky enough to play the Vera in Groningen. It's a world famous DIY venue that has hosted some of the greatest bands since the early 80s. I have sung on the same stage as Bono! The Vera was first mentioned to me by a Dutch friend, Rene, when I was at university and his description of the place was further enhanced by glowing reports from friends who had played there. I'd always wanted to play there and it didn't disappoint, completely run by volunteers it is the perfect example of how alternative culture can blossom when it's run properly. Added to that we were treated like friends, given great food, copious free beer and we got paid!

The day after the gig we hung out beside the canal and drank. And drank. We scared off the local wide boys who tried to make us move from their territory on two occasions and we even made the local jakies move on. Richard and I procured some local fungi and eight of us laughed so much tears streamed down our faces. It was quite a day.

To top off a fantastic weekend we got to see the mighty Tombs destroy the Vera's basement. The intensity, anger and sheer volume cut through our state of inebriation and our eyes and ears were rudely opened. Jamie introduced us all to his friends after the gig and they were great guys. We arranged to play with them when they visited Edinburgh and a friendship was cemented that has resulted in us being invited to the US to tour the East Coast with them four years on. You've got to love the hardcore scene!

Black Horse were touring with Tombs on that European jaunt and I think they gave me their record at the Edinburgh date. They were a two piece who played arty industrial goth. They seemed a bit out of place, but were nice enough and they have photos of Edinburgh on their MySpace so they obviously liked our fair city which is always pleasing. I didn't watch all their set that night because I was in my pre gig nervous mode and I don't think I'd ever listened to their record before today.

Here's my stream of consciousness whilst I was listening to them -

The Kills playing Black Sabbath covers. I love rock and roll. White Stripes. Wax Trax. Revolting Cocks. Quentin Tarantino horror movie soundtrack. From Dusk Til Dawn. Sleazy. Hipster. ACDC. Boring. Yeah, Yeah, Yeahs. Nine Inch Nails. PJ Harvey. Try hard. Pretty rubbish. Hopefully this will end soon. Mission music. Chambers Street. Goth girls shaking their heads side to side whilst skipping on the spot after drinking too many snakebites. Yawn. Please end. Depeche Mode. Last song is very Depeche Mode. Not as good though.

Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.