Not Sunday

School was closed today as Istanbul celebrates the 87th anniversary of the city’s liberation. On this day in 1923, the last ships of the British, French and Italian forces left İstanbul after almost four years of occupation following World War I.   I had intended to go to Levent district hoping to take some photographs of all the tower blocks festooned in the Turkish flag.  Always splendid to see.  However, opaque impenetrable grey skies that released their torrents of rain and thunder on and off throughout the day kept me home,  and in this quiet, wintry feel of a day, I turned on the television and started to knit.  I haven't picked up needles and wool for a very long long time.  Don't seem to have the patience any more.   Still have loads of wool though and this pretty yarn is destined to be a baby jacket for neighbours.  Well, not for them you understand, but for their little one, due in a couple of weeks.  Watching TV, (not something I do very often) with a cup of tea and knitting, I was convinced it was Sunday, Sadly no fireplace, but other than that, it looked like wintry Sunday afternoon.  It sounded like a wintry Sunday afternoon.  It felt like a wintry Sunday afternoon.  But it was Tuesday.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.