Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Day 125: - Light

Yet more glorious light this morning. A bit of Photomatixing has gone on here in case you hadn't spotted it!

And on the subject of glorious light, last night I was just mopping up the many tears we had shed at the end of GBBO (I was ok until Mary Berry blubbed) when my next door neighbour rang to say she was looking out of her bedroom window at the Northern Lights. I was sceptical, we live opposite the hospital so are bathed in light pollution, plus we don't have much of a view toward the northern horizon. So I sauntered upstairs with no urgency and discovered Auroras gleaming in the sky above Huddersfield. I was too gobsmacked to leave the scene and get my camera and by the time I did they had faded to a faint glow, but my neighbour took the photo that is in extras.  It seems much of the country was treated to the display, and there is a chance of a repeat tonight. Their ephemeral and unpredictable appearances really seem to grasp people's imagination and awe, what a fabulous world we live in. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.