Chrysanthemums!

These were given to me 2 weeks ago by my daughter K , but they had got a bit jaded looking , so I stripped the dead leaves off and put a bit to gypsophila with them and hey presto I have a new bouquet ! My mother loved Chrysanthemums especially the round Pom Pom ones.
Meaning if anyone is interested??
In Victorian language of flowers each colour had a meaning ::
Yellow -- gently declining amorous advances!!
Red -- proposition , invitation to ignite a new relationship !
White -- to tell the truth, be honest, a request for complete candour!
Greek -- prefix Chrysos meaning golden ( original colour) symbolises -- optimism and joy!
In Asia today -- embraces the idea of long life and rebirth!
Japan reserves the white ones for funerals
In china the chrysanthemum goes back to the 15 th century
( well it would wouldn't it !! )
Meaning October flower, it is the emblem of the Chinese army, I suppose that's because they think of the flower as being a noble plant along with the Orchid, Bamboo and Plum!
To them it means Angel flower.
Facts may come in useful to you pub quiz nighters!!!!.,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.