Daunti's world

By daunti

Autumn

I finally realize why I've grown to appreciate autumn so much. It is because the trees tell me so much about life, especially about the inner seasons of our lives. Each year as I begin to notice that the leaves are going golden, I reflect that the trees seem to give themselves over to the "letting go" process much more freely than humans. Trees readily allow autumn to have their summer leaves. Trees allow the wind to toss them and the frost to touch them. They allow the seasons to make it appear that all is lost and that there is no green growth left. But they know better, for even at their most barron moments, when one can look among the branches and see scars and knotholes the trees once hid, the trees already show terminal buds with the secret of next spring's leafing in them. We humans have a lot to learn from autumn trees.

Love this!
Words by Joyce Rupp in her book Fresh Bread.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.