don't forget the floor beneath your feet

(this) Flea says that the bass is the ground that all music grows on. She's feeling a bit narky because in School of Rock, an otherwise excellent fun film, the bass player is not developed at all and doesn't get a solo at the end. I can totally understand her point of view. And, in case you think that bass playing is just standing still and going plunk plunk plunk have a look and listen to this.

Today has been another tidying out day. I tackled the room that I call the laundry room - this room won't exist soon and I'm feeling a bit ambiguous about it. There's a certain amount of luxury in having a room that you can dump the clean laundry in and ignore it for a while...from now on it's all going to be much more in my face and I'm not sure if my face wants that. Anyway, I've had to stop ignoring and have sorted out enough clothes to keep a small family of elephants warm, thrown away heaps of those socks that remain pairless for years (until you throw them away, then their fellow sock suddenly reappears), thrown out the rather odd collection of broken swimming costumes (WHY?!!!! why do we keep this stuff?) and tidied up the other stuff that had wandered its way into the room so it could be ignored. The rest of the day was spend cooking and baking and tidying up the kitchen. The first thing I did today was make bread for breakfast and tidy the kitchen and then I had to fight my way out of the endless loop.....
And now as it's ***day tomorrow, I'm doing all that last minute stuff that should've been done yesterday......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.