Helter-skelter

By Juli

Metaphor?

I've walked past this sculpture no end of times at Tilgate Park in Crawley and never really gave it much thought but today it seemed like a metaphor for so much that's happening (or not happening!) in my life at the moment and I was wondering if anyone else will get a similar feeling?

- its 'natural' theme fits perfectly in with my current studies, especially my recent exam.

- it reminded me of my poor cat's eye, which I seem to have to squirt something into at every available opportunity at the moment!

- it reminded me of threading needles in my sewing lessons and the many similar sculptures at Wakehurst.

- it also reminded me of the phrase 'looking for a needle in a haystack', which is what I've been doing with my project write-up, trying to find that elusive bit of information which ties it all together.

- it illustrates how close I am to finishing my degree - so close I can almost touch it - and yet there's still a long way to go to achieve my final goal.

- it's shaped a bit like a water flea, reminding me that I need to get on with the rest of my experiment.

- it shows the small window of time which I seem to have to enjoy all of your blips. :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.