Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

Guiding Lights

We arrived in Cairo safely at 3am after a long stopover in Rome. After a good night's sleep we spent some time unpacking and setting the room up. The school has changed the cleaning services used for the flat here and it seemed cleaner than usual, meaning that we didn't have to get rid of tons of sandy dust. Went to Kandahar, our favourite Indian restaurant at night to reaquaint ourselves a little with the city. The city works it's magic on Bb instantly, but it takes a bit longer with me and that's ok.

It was 6 years ago today since dad died. He never got to know about our wee place in Rio, our flat in Edinburgh, our stints here in Cairo, the development of Bb's book, nor blip. He always enjoyed sharing our adventures, either through visits himself (Budapest, London and Barcelona) or through our stories and photos over many cups of tea and good old blethers. I'm sure he would be enjoying what we're up to these days. As my niece said yesterday in a text to me, he was a very loved man and he would be very proud to see how we've held strongly together as a family, getting through the toughest of times. When I said to my brother and occasional blipper 'busboy', 'We'll all be thinking of dad today', he replied, 'I think of him every day'. And that's so true for all of us. I often ask myself, 'what advice would dad give me here?' and it helps keep me on track. His common sense, humor, kindness and curiosity live on in us all. I miss him terribly, but he's still with us all on this adventure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.