Nae taste....

Established in 1826, the Academy first occupied William Henry Playfair’s magnificent landmark building on The Mound in 1835.    It is a very prominent, fine example of the neo-Classical looking proudly towards the New Town.   One of the glories of "The Athens of the North".   


A couple of years ago there arose a fashion for using the pillars along the front to advertise whatever might be the prevailing exhibition.    Now this looks like a fancy pub/restaurant.   Or maybe a nightclub.


Baliey's Stardust would, of course, be of particular interest to blippers.    But I don't think this is any way to treat a proud and historic building.


OK, I know that I am beyond the pale in my unreconstructed archaism.   Sorry - actually no apologies.   I don't care.   This city is under so many layers of attack right now.  hell4murph has been standing at the barricades (metaphorically) to protest.   I proudly join her.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.