FarmerGirl

By FarmerGirl

What has just happened to me?

I captured one of our last 4 pregnant cows at the end of its calving tonight.  I stood there and watched her.  She was somewhat in shock at what had just happened.  The calf still had it's back legs inside it's mum, and for a while they both just lay there recovering from the birth.  After a while, I returned home, and watched her from our kitchen window.  She still wasn't up on her feet after 20 or so minutes, so Farmerboy and I walked to her paddock, where she decided to get up and start bonding with her calf.

While in the paddock, we noticed that another cow was calving.  We moved her into another paddock, and within 30 minutes of returning home, she too had given birth.  Down to 2 cows left to calve now.

I'm surprised at how soon calves are up on their feet after being born. I love watching nature unfolding in front of my eyes.  It's so amazing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.