The Daily Fox ...

By MaggieB

Like a rag rug to a bull ..

My sister and I went to  rag rug making class today. We live quite a distance apart and have never done anything like this, so it was a very pleasant change.

However - neither of us got on very well with it! I don't know why -  we're both very practical and capable people usually, but it just didn't really seem to go very well. We're both terrible perfectionists and Di, our teacher, kept telling us to just keep going and it would all look fine eventually. Maybe it will. If we bother to carry on with it.

So - no photos of my day - instead it's another mystery object. My brother in law had a very minor interest in Colorado beetles (don't ask) at one point, and I've rather latched onto it as a present giving idea.

This is my latest purchase - but I love it too much and am planning to hang onto it! 

It's a German, 1930s biology teaching aid. A small glass fronted box - with hand painted models of the various stages of the beetle, glued onto a printed leafy background.  There will surely be more specimens produced in this way, but there's no maker's name on the box, and Googling has come up with nothing. If I could, I'd love to collect others in the series.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.