TheWayfaringTree

By FergInCasentino

Clock time

I had the privilege of joining the Road Crew on manouevres this morning. Much staring into holes, chipping at holes, kango-ing at holes and then filling of holes. All for little effect but to put right the over-zealous efforts of Friday's hole widening and drainage improvements.

Anxiety and niggling gave way to satisfaction at a job well done.  My water regulation in the mixing of a stiff batch of muck was much commended. I'll leave you to imagine the various guffaws from a bunch of old blokes - two of them very experienced builders - on the loose.

The sun came out in a balmy autumnal misty way. I bashed through some tax stuff for my mum and took a walk as the early night fell. A handsome full moon rose over the Strait and I essayed a shot from nearer the edge than one should go in company.  An easterly wind of exceptional summery mildness was picking up as I turned for home.

My brother's 60th birthday over in Boston.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.