Moon over Ardwyn ...

Full moon last night. They are always a bugger to shoot - but this was my best try this time. If it looks upside down, or rotated, compared to what you see that's because I'm in Patagonia where  it can be pretty cold at 04.00 in the morning.

I wanted to take this as the moon rose for a 'framed by trees' effect but it was too cloudy. I set alarms for 22.00, 24.00 and then for 04.00 am - only on the last of these was the sky sufficiently clear but it was too cold to go looking for artistic compositions.

For the curious I shot this with a 400mm lens and a 1.4 converter giving  a focal length of 560mm, 1/250 at f/11 and ISO set to 100. Camera on tripod, ten second delay and spot metering. As always these days Canon 7D Mk II with EF 400mm f/5.6 L USM lens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.