Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

No Leo Day - just as well...

Well, the couple of drinks yesterday with ex-colleagues turned into a few more than intended. Just as well I didn't have a Leo day today - I could not have coped.

Mind you, it was the fact that I didn't have a Leo day that caused caution to be carelessly thrown to the wind. Suffice to say, I dragged folk home, expecting food and more wine to appear by magic (which it did), spilt red wine on the carpet, tried to use my remote on my iPod Touch to do my favourite game of 'Guess the song' by playing the first few bars, except that it didn't seem to work properly * ahem*. JR, my better half, is a Saint!

So this morning, in penance, and quite slowly, I washed the windows. Actually, I've think I've found an infallible method. You need a special cloth, so you don't leave streaks.

Then I went to get flowers and take them to my sister in law. When I was examining the various bunches outside the shop, I suddenly came over queasy and dizzy.'Too much activity too soon', I thought. But no, I was standing on a pavement block that actually see-sawed by a tiny amount. Just enough to make me think it was me wobbling.

I bused to the school and dropped them off. Job done, M&S! I walked up Leith Walk (that's a long street) and discovered a brilliant wee cafe. I had some excellent soup for a very small amount of money. And everybody was chatting to each other. Presumably they were regulars and knew the folk behind the counter, but the chap was asking them if they could whistle. He asked me if I could. I can, but not, I discovered, if someone is looking at me!

Walking home over the Links again, these two chaps were boxing. I asked if I could take photos. They didn't seem to mind, but the boxing seemed to be getting more and more in earnest. I wandered off before I was called upon to separate them.

I haven't mentioned the mouse. I think he has skedaddled. Although the four traps are still there, poised for action. Every time I come into my computer room I have to drop to my knees and look under the wardrobe to see if there's a wee dead mouse. It feels like entering here is some sort of religious experience. Which of course, it is, in a way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.