Playing life by ear.

By Crazyoldbird

A sea of beds.

Yesterday: The drive up here was hampered by the new tyres which S had got especially for the trip and which had not been balanced properly. We lost 4 hours finding a garage with the correct size tool, just to get the wheels off. 

We made it to the convent whre I chose to park Mr. S. during my stay in Hospital. A few minutes out of town but very clean, friendly and quiet.

Next morning:
While waiting to be assigned a bed, I walked out onto the fire escape and ran up and down a few times just because I could still do it. Then I saw this sea of beds. There were dozens and dozens of them in what seemed to be a bed cemetery. Later I discovered that all the beds had just been replaced by new ones and these were waiting to be recycled.

Got assigned a bed. There are only two of us in this ward and we are both going to have the same hip surgery. She is going to be first tomorrow then me and loads of blokes to follow. They churn them out at a rate of 10 a day.

Had to have the most devastating oral purge which, if nothing else, kept me occupied from 10am to 10pm and kept my mind off other issues and gave us a reason to laugh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.