airedaleknitter

By airedaleknitter

Making the most ....

of a disappointment....
I'd seen a pop up shop advertised in Haworth today, and it sounded like the perfect way to spend an hour or so for me. In actual fact I spent all of 5 minutes walking round and thinking I was pleased it was free entry!

So given it was such a beautiful warm and sunny autumnal day I decided I'd spend my time photographing Haworth. I noticed walking past the church it was open, so I decided to go in, I 'm ashamed to say for the first time ever.

The vicar was still there chatting to the volunteers manning the stall, and asked me if I'd come far. (I think the camera around my neck must have made me look a tourist!) I told him I was local and mentioned the fact that despite that and that my ggg grandparents had been married there 11 Feb 1839) and a my gg grandfather baptised (4 feb 1844) there, by Patrick Bronte, it was my first venture inside. He was so delighted, as apparently in the 6 years he has been there he had never knowingly met anyone with a direct link to the Bronte's time at the church.

Given it was such a beautiful day outside , the windows were looking superb, so  just had to be photographed and blipped.

Hope you all have a good week.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.