TheWayfaringTree

By FergInCasentino

The Longest Day

Of course, it wasn't the longest day.

But the guys from DA Tree Surgeons kept going til the job was done using headlamps, truck lights, sheer determination and the utmost professionalism. A huge thank you to them.

The Holm Oak that made me feel I was living in the latter stages of Thomas Hardy's  'The Woodlanders' is felled and the gentle autumnal light bathes the house. 

Well, at least we hope it will in the morning and more important in the afternoon when the sun used to disappear between the thick intractable foliage of this escapee from the arid plains of Southern Europe.

I helped in my own small way with my Makita electric chain saw and my grunt power barrowing the really very heavy timber down to the splitting floor by the shed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.