Tea

I am eternally grateful to these ladies who are usually over worked and underpaid. This estate prided themselves on how they treat their workers but one can never be sure.. It's a difficult one for me. I love tea. This is one of the few employment opportunities available to women and the industry is hugely important to the country's economy. But then hearing stories of women coating their legs in dangerous chemicals to prevent leeches gives a different side to the production of my cuppa. I often just feel lucky when I see what other people have to do to make a living. I happen to be British and academic so I could work hard at school and get a world class education essentially for free and comparatively easily end up in a job that pays well. All of this means I will never have to spend 10 hours a day picking tea leaves. Just the lottery of birth.     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.