AnneILM60

By AnneILM60

In Flanders Fields

My Fifth Grade teacher, Mr Milne was a direct descendant of Lt Col John McCrae.  Every year Mr Milne would begin to read "In Flanders Fields" to his class after our 11am minute of silence.  Every year Mr Milne would have to excuse himself after breaking down before he could finish.  This was well known through out the small school so I knew what was to come when I got to his class, or so I thought.  The emotion of that day from 1970 is forever burned in my memory.  Mr Milne gave me a gift so very precious.

Lt Col John McCrae MD
30 Nov 1872 Guelph, Ont, Canada
28 Jan 1918 Boulogne-sur-Mer, France
Poet, author, artist, physician & soldier during WWI
He was a surgeon during the Second Battle of Ypres, Belgium

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.