cjshields

By AroundHome

Downy Woodpecker

Downy Woodpecker - this morning I sought a place where there would be protection from cold winds, and headed to the woods at Waa Kee Sha Park. Arrived and there were signs stating that due to high winds the trails were closed.  Made sense, who wants a dead branch or dead tree falling on them?  I stuck to the pavement and open spots, avoiding the woods where I wanted to be.

Walked north on the asphalt drive leading into the park.  At first there were no birds, then a spot where there were birds, then no birds.  Walked back to the location where birds were hanging out.  What was the difference?  Berries for food.  Robins, goldfinches, cedar waxwings, nuthatches, and grackles were present.  Stood in one spot and the birds gradually returned.  A waxwing watched me for a period, and then either judged me not a threat or was very hungry as it flew down into the berry bushes. A red fox trotted down the drive, stopping to look at me and then hunting in the brush on the west side of the drive.

A female downy woodpecker (no red spot on back of head as a male downy woodpecker has) arrived and drilled on dead limbs and trees. Took quite a few pics - she seems to shut her eyes when she drills into a tree, and eye protection is needed for this drilling operation.  Some of my drilling pics had motion blur, and I think a shutter speed faster than 1/1250 is warranted.

In coming days I will return with a lawn chair to sit in this spot.  I like walking around, but unobtrusively staying in one position could be a better strategy.  Extra of American robin about to eat a berry is posted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.