Views of my world

By rosamund

Evening

The weather was pretty rubbish again today, warm and clammy with either drizzle or torrential downpours and the odd brief glimpse of sunshine. Mental!

Had a nice relaxed start to the day sorting myself out and got Freya booked in for the summer school drawing and painting class she wants to go to at The Art School. The children had both hoped to go for a class on comic books but that was fully booked and Noah didn't fancy drawing and painting so much.

We headed out late morning as we needed to get a couple of things and I realised I had still to pick up my new sunglasses from Specsavers in Byres Road so we headed for the west end. We arrived there around lunchtime so we hooked up with Carlos and all had lunch together which was nice.

I got my glasses which I'm really pleased with, I had actually forgotten what they looked like, it's so long ago since I picked them, then we had a wander down Ruthven Lane & Mews at all the vintage and antique shops. I got an old cast-iron iron which is sitting beautifully in my fire place and a beautiful glass vase which has moved around the living room and is yet to find a permanent home although I do love it.

After the waste end wore us out we went to the retail park at Clydebank to get the outdoor kit we needed, after a bit of drama Noah ended up with a fleece, a pair of jeans and a pair of wellies, Freya also got wellies and I got walking boots so it was a very successful mission.

I went down to knitting tonight to see everyone as we're all off on holidays over the next couple of weeks. I made good progress with a pair of socks for me which I have been working on periodically since December but now they will go nicely with my new boots so I need to get them done. It's nice to have an incentive. I also bought yarn for a wee dress for my niece who will be 4 in July and always gets a handcrafted garment for her birthday.

It's so lovely having the time off to indulge my hobbies and passions, it's just what I need after such a busy end of year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.