A Renewed Acquaintance

I'm cautious about calling it a friendship.  I've learned to be cautious about such things.  Oh of course I'm still exuberant and bubbly but ... ah, you know how it is.  Or maybe because it's been a mere two days after the Paris massacres and my mood has been compromised?  If that is so, then I doubt I'm the only one feeling rather somber.

This is M. de N., who used to be ... my psychologist!  I really learned a lot from our bi-weekly sessions (which is just as well because they were only partly covered by my insurance), which lasted about 2.5 years.  Anyway, she's no longer a psychologist in a proper clinic but has turned freelance.  She has just written a book based on her experiences with patients (without referring to them directly) and today was the book-launching, to which I was invited.  It took place at the van der Valk Hotel in Uden, a newly-opened branch, and, if I might say so, it looks like a really neat place, at least for now.  I would like to try out the food one day, or maybe even a room, but it is so far away from where we are that I very much doubt I'll find another excuse to visit it.

I am glad I met her again, and found it singular that she even took the trouble to look for me on FB.  When I arrived, we greeted each other like old friends, so maybe that is what we have become.  Maybe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.