Sleeping bear dunes

It was almost painful to leave the cool, deep waters of Douglas Lake. I said my goodbyes, packed up the van, and went for a last swim. Friends Nicole, Gardner Mike, and Tatia joined me and we dove into bliss. The water was crystal clear and streaked with sunbeams. Hanging onto the floating dock a snapping turtle swam by before disappearing into the deep drop off. I followed, gazing out on the lake soaking it all in. I love this place dearly and never know if I will be able to come back. I wonder where I will be this time next year, and I have no idea.

Eventually I tore myself away and traveled two hours southwest to Traverse City. I'm stopping in to visit my good friend Christina on my way home. It was a hot day so as soon as I arrived we escaped to Lake Michigan. We are going to one of my favorite places: Sleeping Bear Dunes. I can still remember the last time I came here about five years ago. It was where I first discovered and fell in love with the Great Lakes, and where I met my girlfriend in graduate school.

Returning again after many years I'm lit up by nostalgia. The smell of cedar, caress of sand grains, and this familiar trail through the dunes is so familiar. Gazing from the top it looks and feels exotic and far-away like a desert isle on a tropical sea beckoning.

We obeyed the siren's call and ran down the dunes to meander in the surf and walk the surf line whipped up by the wind. Later we found shelter from the winds to lay down a blanket for a picnic Christina made. Local Leelenau white wine, truffle cheese, a baguette and salad on the beach. As we snacked we watched piping plovers forage in the rocks with chicks and nearly fell asleep waiting for the sunset.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.