clairep

By clairep

Quotes galore!

So today I received two quotes.  One for the stone lintel, and the second for the windows.  The quote for the lintel was from someone recommended to me through a friend of a friend.  It's more than we expected to pay, but it was less of a shock than when I first looked at the quote for the windows.
We had asked for a quote for both UPVC and Wooden windows.  We knew we wouldn't really be able to afford wood from the company who were quoting, but needed an idea of cost in case planning insist we have wood.
I opened the quote and was horrified when I saw the price of the venetian triple sash window in the lounge.  They had only provided us with a quote for this window in engineered timber, and I instantly assumed this meant this style was only available in wood.  The cost of this one window was more than the two uPVC sash windows and the uPVC arched casement window put together!  Luckily after a quick phone call I discovered that this style of window has just (in the last few weeks) become available in uPVC and they had been unable to get a price which is why they had quoted for wood.  I was reassured that they would be able to get me a price but it might take a few weeks. 
Now I really have everything crossed, as if planning say we can't have uPVC windows on the front of the house we are going to have to get cheaply made wooden ones from somewhere else. I will not be happy - neither will Stu if he has to get up a ladder to paint them every few years!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.