Mixed up day

Being a parent is so difficult on many scales. Many's a time I sat with a feverish child who always chose to take ill on a Sunday night and at the time living on an island with a crabbit rabbit of a doctor to whom house calls were as alien as Spock or Captain Kirk! Other times you were a referee in what seemed like World War 3 with three raging kids chucking all manner of stuff and insults at eachother. However one was always certain...you always knew where the little buggers were cause they didnt drive and riding a bike in 40 mile an hour winds usually knocked that source of escape out of their heads.
Now! Oh my God! 19, 23 & 24 years later (where has the time gone?) First up we are living on the mainland with all the inherent problems that brings. Secondly, they no longer need bikes as they each have their own cars. Tehy all work hard and to a certain extent they play hard but they are fit and healthy so why am I griping? Well perhaps its because your youngest is going on her first big city date!! you have given her the thrid degree about who this chap is, his parentage, his brain power (should he have any), his work, prospects of earning a decent wage, promotion, does he have a dog, don't sleep with him on your first date . You get the picture!
When they are older the type of worry you have about them changes but never leaves. They are rounded individuals but still you worry. Sometimes I think my freinds back on the island who have kids on the mainland do they worry more or less? I didnt sleep well indeed I didnt sleep at all until I heard h er key in the lock at 5.30am!!! (loud screams and all sorts of thoughts going round my head) however I do accept they are grown up and hope that they put into practice all that we have treid to teach them. But, still you worry! As I tell them "it comes with the territory guys"
So here is a nice photo of the aptly named Rest & Be Thankful which at 5.30 am this mornign was what I finally did
Happy blipping all

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.