feet well travelled

By feettravelled

Visited one of the best families here in Zambia: Agatha and her beautiful children. Wisdom (the little boy I'm holding) was on the underweight programme at Isubilo in 2010 and was a scrawny little boy as was his (now beautiful and pregnant) mother.

I worked with them in the months I was here in 2010 and love visiting them because they are proof that Isubilo is helping vulnerable people out of the horrible situations life throws them.

As well as interviewing her for my research it was great to have cuddles and catch up.

In my head I thought this would take about an hour and a half including the walk there....that was a silly assumption....This is Africa after all and what is time!

Then once I got back to Isubilo, I was invited out to someone's house for nshima by a friend....i enjoyed delicious nshima, chicken and spinach with great company. They were fascinated by me being with a Zimbabwean guy and the cultural issues we were (going) to face. We had an interesting afternoon talking about our funny cultures!

Then one more in-depth interview with one of the older Isubilo kids before heading home for the loooooong weekend. Looking forward to 4 days holiday.

Also a quick shout out to my wonderful mummie, whose letter I got in the post today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.