Life, Universe & Not Much

By micro43

Pictures on a wall

Photos on the wall
I finally hung the 2 photos I framed recently. The frames match rather well the larger one I already had here. So, if my theme for this week is collections, I suppose this is a photo collection.
Actually this was by way of an experiment with the E-M1; I think we are due the eagerly-awaited firmware update on Wednesday, which includes focus bracketing and focus stacking (just bracketing in the case of the E-M5ii). I do quite a lot of very close focus work, both of plants and objects at the BCLM, and depth of field is often a problem. Manual adjustment to get bracketed focus is a pain, so the new feature will be very useful. However, it occurred to me that there are some features already in the camera I still hadn’t used, one of which is keystone compensation. As the only way I could avoid dreadful reflections of the windows in the glass of the frames was by shooting this photo from a very low viewpoint, there was going to be bad keystoning. Now I can correct that in Photoshop, Lightroom etc, and I was inclined to think that would be easier than working through the menu settings in the camera, but I decided to try doing it in camera. Actually it worked quite well, though I did frame the picture just a bit tight, and I still think it would have been easier to fix in post processing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.