Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

FIRENZE

The lovely Professor has whisked me off for my birthday.

I've been thinking of other 'big' birthdays: 21- my lovely youngest brother and his wife gave me a birthday dinner that was mysteriously interrupted by an ex-boyfriend turning up with a soft toy in a cardboard box with breathing holes. 30- a 'friend' gave me some anti-wrinkle cream. 40 - a crazy party involving masks, welly boots and a cake eaten at midnight on a hill above West Kilbride. 50 - the Prof threw a big dinner party. 60 - a ceilidh during the worst winter for 50 years; 3/4 of the guests were snowbound, but one came all the way from Saskatchewan.

Lovely as those were, this one must be the best. We are in love (with each other, naturally) and with this wonderful city.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.