Being WildCardinal...

By WildCardinal

Lymington Seagull

Today was the ASIPS summer day trip - though only 5 of us went! I'd thought more than that would head down to Lymington given how nice the weather was.

Started off with a very nice lunch at the Mayflower, and eventually settled on a stroll down round the salt flats which overlook the Solent. There were some nice curved channels in the mud which made some very nice lines, but they didn't lead into anything and the mud just looked... well, muddy... and rather uninspiring in the shots. I did try and get a better wide angle shot by climbing down the bank to get lower - only to slip down and land in the mud and seaweed (much to the amusement of the others, though no photos of it happening).

Also wondered round the town for a bit which really confirmed my belief that I'm not much of an urban photographer! Give me landscapes any day. The definite upside of town was the white chocolate ice cream on the quayside watching the very fluffy ducklings!

I got this bird shot (no idea what kind of gull it is, not normally my thing) while walking round the salt marshes. Rather liked the sense of movement with the blurred background, and also the water droplets on teh underside (under the leading end of the wing) which you can see when big.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.