Street Corner Society

By StCornerSociety

Kruja, Albania

Probably the least enjoyable day on the tour for me. We drove to Kruja via Durressi.

The latter is a hideous construction site by the sea with possibly the worst 'beach' I've ever seen. Apparently, it is an extremely popular spot and property prices are high. We stopped off for a drink and walked around the deserted merry-go-rounds and frankly could not wait to get back on the bus!

We also stopped off at an amphitheater near to Kruja, which had a mosaic that was on display, part of it is pictured here. This was a treat as many of the mosaics at the UNESCO sites we visited had been covered to protect them so we did not get to see them.

I found Kruja to be a major improvement. I was given a charming old room with lots of wood paneling and had a balcony with a panoramic view over the valley. Some of us explored the Bazaar in the town but most of it was very geared up to tourist so I hung on to my Lek.

The rest of the group went off to see the Castle, which involved a hike, so I rebelled and enjoyed a few hours reading a book on my balcony. The thing I hate about tours is the feeling you have to do absolutely everything and the explanation other group members seem to require. I was really embarrassed that people almost twice my age were whizzing up mountains with ease, when I had to cry off. However, I had not prepared at all for this kind of trip and, although participated in most things, was unabashed at saying 'non' if it wasn't for me.

I planned an early night but it was the Italy V Germany game and there were a truck load of Italian supporters in the room above mine who practically tore the roof off everytime something exciting happened. The town was filled with rather raucous celebrations when Italy eventually won and a man with, what sounded like a tuba, stood outside my room tooting enthusiastically. Very little sleep!

More photos of the day here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.