The Daily Fox ...

By MaggieB

Pffffffttt...

I rushed about all morning, getting ready for my musical weekend in Suffolk.

I hit the road and remembered that I'd thought I'd heard a funny noise as I was driving, yesterday.

After a couple of hours driving the clutch seized and I free wheeled into a handy garage - grinding to a halt on the entrance ramp, blocking it. So in I went to ask if anyone in the queue could help me. A young chap hopped into the van, pumped the clutch and said it 'should be OK' for now.

I still had three hours to drive.

I carried on for an hour, when it seized again - this time I cruised into a handy layby, and rang the AA.

The patrolman came fairly quickly but said he'd need to book me a relay vehicle and I was told it would be with me within the hour, but could only take me half way to my destination, so I would be seamlessly transferred to a second pickup truck at a service station.

Two and a half hours and an angry phone call later, he arrived ('Yes madam - you are a high priority member')

We eventually arrived at the service station to find - yes, you've guessed it - no sign of the transfer vehicle.

An hour and a further hysterical phone call later he arrived.

Seven and a half hours from calling them out to being dropped at a garage at 2 am.

Unimpressed.

But for future reference - I can tell you if you get hysterical and sweary enough with them, the AA will send you a cheque for £25 to cover the cost of a cup of tea and a bun.

Frankly - I'd rather have an efficient service.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.