Revd Aniko

I don't know how far back the tradition of "preaching in" stretches, but certainly as long as I can remember, ministers in their first Sunday in their new congregation would invite a friend/colleague to preach at the service.   It's a nice custom, apart from anything else, who has the time to write a sermon during a week in which you have been ordained and inducted?

So I "preached-in" Aniko this morning at Humbie, Yester, Bolton and East Saltoun in the Presbytery of East Lothian.    Well, physically only at Bolton with the people of all the villages gathered together in the church there.

Aniko, who originally came from East Germany, was a member in my former congregation in Edinburgh (and one of seven members during my time who went to train as ministers.)    This morning was a delight - such a sensible, theologically mature, and thoroughly compassionate and likeable young lady - already greatly loved by the people there.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.