Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Day 196: - International Fashion

A formerly glorious corner of my little town that is now empty, neglected and melancholy. It was poignant today as I had just collected Sarah from her job at a local independent pet shop where staff had told me the shop looks set to be demolished to be replaced by a new development of student housing. Nothing against student housing but there are plenty of empty properties and a huge site further around the ring road lying empty. They have a petition in the shop but they sounded resigned to their fate. It's a fate repeated all over as the high streets become homogenised.

I am emerging from the fog of the last few weeks now that everyone is paid for Christmas - lots still to do but nothing so urgent as staff having money for their Christmas shopping! I can finally do the housework and more importantly, tend to my poor sick boy who has been poorly since he got home. And walk the dog. 

Sarah and I went to see a live streaming of The Nutcracker from the Royal Opera House last night - superb, and this time the Sugar Plum Fairy did perform her solo dance. Anyone old enough to remember this will have been struggling not to add words to the music.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.