A life in pictures...

By GuernseyNix

Guernsey Donkeys

Today I went Christmas shopping in town. Surprisingly successful! I saw this new statue outside the old markets. It's of two Guernsey donkeys. I think the large one is lovely but the baby one looks a little bit devious to me!
I've included a little explanation as to why Guernsey people are called 'donkeys.'

"Mr Torode has written a series of books of anecdotes about the Guernsey way of life.
'In Donkey's Years, I think I found the explanation as to why we are called donkeys,' he said.
'If a Guernseyman got to the age of 25 and was still single and hadn't been to London, his friends called him a donkey.
'Jersey people picked up on this and as Guernsey supporters were leaving Jersey on the ferry, they'd shout out Donkey.
'Guernsey has frogs, Jersey has frogs and toads so we replied: Crapaud."

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.