What a Wonderful World

So I kind of crashed a memorial service tonight. My dad wanted to go to the service for a man he played in a local band with - said he wanted to stop in to pay his respects. It ended up being amazing. There was so much music and joy - it is the only time I have felt like people were truly celebrating someone. Not that his friends and family weren't sad and grieving - it's just that you could see how much they had enjoyed him.
The man in this picture was in Navy boot camp band with my dad, although they didn't know that until they both ended up here in West Virginia - how weird is that. He was belting out "What A Wonderful World" when I took this picture - I just couldn't help it - he was awesome.
Because Mr. Pasola was a World War II veteran, there were full military honors at the end of the service, which included a 21 gun salute and finished with an Army chaplain playing Taps.
His family asked that everyone take a cd on their way out, so that he could keep sharing his love of music.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.